Song Recommendation of the Week

You know what makes me mad? That greatest hits albums are composed of only the most successful, popular, main-stream songs of a band. I mean, sure, you can just throw together whichever singles made the most money, but a lot of greatest hits albums are missing the real gems of their performers. This week’s song recommendation is one of those precious gems- “Stranger Things Have Happened” by the Foo Fighters. Now I will say that I pretty much listen to and buy anything Dave Grohl puts out because he is one of my favorite musicians of all time, but this is one of those songs that made me appreciate his talents so much more the first time I heard it. Grohl showcases his amazing song-writing abilities in this piece; from the lyrics to the chords, it produces a rhythm and a heart breaking story that listeners can connect with. The interpretation is open to whoever is listening, I think that’s the beauty in a song like this. Some say it’s about the hope of fixing a fight, some say it’s about pining for a lost love that you messed up with, but the song’s story is different to all who hear it and that just adds to making it even more captivating.

One comment

  1. Andrea Lopez Photography · April 10, 2016

    I haven’t heard this before, like you said, I only what get filtered to radio, what’s “popular”. This was a great selection, I will probably listen to the entire album now to see what else I’m missing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

