Guns N’ Roses Announce Reunion Tour: But Can They Make It Last?

Just a few days ago, Guns N’ Roses released the dates for their appropriately named reunion, the ‘Not In This Lifetime’ tour. Fans of the band might recall that a certain member seemed to have a thing for starting feuds and being a diva- I’m looking at you, Axl Rose. The first thing that came to my mind when I heard the news of the tour was, “I wonder how they managed that. Can they even make it through an entire tour without a dispute?” While the latter is still to be decided, I have managed to find my answers to the ‘how’.

A Boston-based rock radio station explained the details regarding negotiations and requirements of what it took for certain members to perform, and deal breakers for some. Apparently, this mind-blowing reunion almost did NOT happen, which only makes my faith in this tour a bit shakier. A close source to the band said, and I’m paraphrasing here, “that after hatchets had been buried, there was nothing standing in the way… we’ll see how long it lasts.” When even a close source of the band lacks faith, there’s clearly a problem.

However, a writer over at Billboard decided to do some digging regarding the situation and came up with what I believe is a reasonable explanation for the glue that is holding everything together. The band will be making around $3 million per show; multiply that by twenty dates and they’re looking at a nice, $60 million paycheck. I think it’s safe to say that those numbers are the answer to how this tour was successfully created, but both of these articles are right in that they stress how risky this tour could get.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still hoping to snag some tickets and see Slash live, but let’s see if the band can make it far enough into the dates first.

Leave a Reply

