Song Recommendation of the Week

Guess how long I’ve been awake? For about 36 hours now. I’ve been studying for an exam while also trying to work on some projects and now that they are all over with I am looking forward to crashing soon. Fun fact about me though, I can’t fall asleep without listening to music; I thought for this week I would share with y’all one of my favorite songs to listen to while falling asleep- “Glory Box” by Portishead. If I remember correctly, I think I first found this song on 8 tracks a year or two ago in a sleep mix. Beth Gibbins has some amazing vocals that are truly outstanding in this song, and mellow me out while I’m trying to fall asleep. Combine her voice with the slow, eccentric electrical guitar and you’ve got a tune that’ll have you feeling relaxed in no time. If you’re listening to the song right now you might be thinking that it sounds familiar.That’s probably because it provides the main body for the recent chart topper by Alessia Cara, “Here”. Both are great songs that I personally enjoy, but for the purpose of hitting the hay tonight, I’ll be going with the softer, slower melodies of Portishead.

Leave a Reply

