Top 5: Songs Ruined by the Internet

The internet is both an amazing and horrifying thing in our world. There’s access to virtually everything at our fingertips, but there are also some not-so-amazing sides of the web. In today’s society, my generation likes to make a lot of bad jokes on the internet, discover new memes, and completely exhaust all of these new jokes. I will admit, I do enjoy a good meme. My old roommate was a huge fan of memes so she always kept me updated on what was currently trending. However, the internet seems to have this recent obsession with finding older songs and making jokes out of them; I am not saying that these songs were good to begin with, but now I can’t even listen to some without thinking of whatever I’ve seen on Twitter or Tumblr about the song.

This brings me to today’s Top 5 list- songs ruined by the internet. All of the songs I’m about to list have been the punch line of the internet’s jokes for a while now. Whenever I hear these songs in a serious setting, I can no longer even remotely enjoy them. Instead, I think of the horrible and hilarious jokes people have associated them with. So if you haven’t heard of these jokes or songs, keep reading to have them ruined forever.

5. “Careless Whisper” by George Michael

Honestly, the internet didn’t have to do much to this song to turn it into a joke. The saxophone at the beginning does a great job at that itself. In fact, in almost every instance of this song being used as a joke, it’s been making fun of the dramatic saxophone opening. From an SNL skit to sex jokes, the internet has done a great job at making sure that you never take this song seriously ever again, if you even did in the first place.

4. “Bring Me To Life” by Evanescence

I hate everyone whoever started using this song as an internet meme. From ages 9-14 I think I listened to this song at least five times a week; I am not ashamed to admit that I love it. However, someone on the internet has decided to use Paul McCoy’s dramatic lines of “WAKE ME UP” and “CAN’T WAKE UP” to create possibly the most used song meme in the past six months. His dramatic lines have been used with jokes about waking up for school, going through scene phases in middle school, and other cringe-worthy scenarios.

3. “Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel

This song has made a recent comeback as an internet meme thanks to an interview Ben Affleck and Henry Cavill did about the horrible reviews for Batman vs Superman. The video shows Ben staring down, looking like he regrets everything he had to do with this movie, and the famous opening lyrics of song say what he’s thinking. I’m a big fan of this meme because people find clever ways to use it, but I’m definitely never going to hear Simon and Garfunkel the same ever again.

2. “Wonderwall” by Oasis

Father, if you’re reading this, I’m sure you’ll appreciate this one (he hates Oasis). This song has always been a popular song in literally every young adult movie and TV show ever made since 1995 and I think the world is sick of it. Because of it’s “brooding and misunderstood loner” tone, a lot of young people have learned to play it on their acoustic guitars. This has led the people of the internet to begin making fun of it with the punchline, “Anyways, here’s ‘Wonderwall'” due to the fact that every person who carries around a guitar seems to only know this one song. The humor is in its truth.

  1. “Never Gonna Give You Up” by Rick Astley

I don’t even know where to beginning describe this song’s journey to becoming an internet meme. This song is another one that was pretty much destined for internet torment. The super funky opening and catchy yet slightly obsessive-sounding lyrics, have led people to use  it to make a wide range of jokes. From horrible dance moves to unrequited love to never giving up, the internet has managed to Rickroll everyone by using this song and Rick Astley will never be taken seriously again.

Leave a Reply

