St. Patrick’s Day Spirit

Can you guess what today is? I’m sure if you read the title of this post then you can get it right. It’s my favorite holiday- St. Patrick’s Day. Yes, when I say favorite I do mean that it beats Christmas, Halloween, and any other holiday you can think of. St. Paddy’s Day is filled with dancing and singing and I look forward to it every year. This year, I want to share with you five of my favorite songs I listen to every year as I celebrate this wonderful holiday.

You see, I come from an Irish family. I’ve been raised to embrace my Irish heritage to the fullest; I know how to make soda bread, I always wear my Claddagh ring, my house is decorated with pictures of Irish landmarks, and I even took Irish dancing lessons growing up. Before you ask, yes, I can do a jig and no, I do not wear clogs when I dance.

St. Patrick’s Day is no joke in this family. It’s to be celebrated every year, wearing green, and having a good time. We listen to many Irish jigs and bands throughout our celebration, too many to keep track. However, there are some I do enjoy more than others. So, the following songs are just a quick pick of five of my favorites (in no particular order) that I will without a doubt be singing at the top of my lungs today.

  1. “I’m Shipping Up To Boston” – Dropkick Murphys

The Dropkick Murphys are an American Celtic punk band from Massachusetts. If you’ve ever watched The Departed then you might recognize this song. It’s loud, it’s energetic, and it gets me ready for a great St. Patrick’s Day.

2. “Whiskey in the Jar” – Metallica

The song “Whiskey in the Jar” is a traditional Irish song that has been around for years. It’s been recorded by several different artists over the years, but my favorite version to listen to every year is done by Metallica. While the music video for it makes no sense and relates to the song in no way, Metallica adds some electric guitars to the mix that make this particular cover more enjoyable to me than the others.

3. “Toss the Feathers” – The Corrs

“Toss the Feathers” is another traditional irish folk song and it is purely instrumental. Again, there are several recordings out there so it is hard to choose just one, but I picked this version by The Corrs. The Corrs are a group of irish siblings from Ireland who were very popular in the 90’s. I listen to their version of this folk song every year.

4. “Drunken Lullabies” – Flogging Molly

This song is perfect for listening to at any point during your St. Paddy’s celebration; on the way to the pub, at the pub, or leaving the pub you can sing it at the top of your lungs and feel festive as ever. There really is no hidden meaning to the song, it speaks for itself and summarizes the day’s activities perfectly.

5. “Top of the Morning to Ya” – House of Pain

A personal favorite of mine, “Top of the Morning to Ya” is rap song that you don’t usually hear in pubs on St. Patrick’s Day, but you can definitely hear it in my house or car. I think my appeal to it is how little irish-american rap groups there are out there. House of Pain was a group whose irish heritage was no secret, so releasing a song with a title that matches a common irish saying comes as no surprise.

I hope you have a wonderful and safe St. Patrick’s Day. If you need music to get you and your friends pumped, I’m certain that any of these songs will do the trick. Happy St. Paddy’s Day everyone!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

