Road Trip Playlist

It’s officially spring break for me!! I’ve been waiting for this week since the first day of spring semester, and I could not be happier. Every spring break, my mom and I go skiing with some family friends up in Keystone, Colorado and it’s easily one of the best weeks of the year. We spend two days driving from Dallas, Texas to Dillon, Colorado, while making stops at The Big Texan, Cadillac Ranch, the New Mexico state line, Capulin Volcano National Monument, and a quick, sit-down lunch break in Denver. With all this driving, it can get pretty boring pretty fast, especially when you have to spend the first seven hours staring at the flat, dry lands of west Texas. To make it a little more fun, I create a playlist each year for the perfect road trip and I want to share it with y’all.

Sadly, I will not be making the great journey this year because my mother does not have the same spring break as I do. However, this gave me a bit more inspiration on this year’s playlist because I compiled about 170 songs for a road trip to anywhere in the country; normally I try to make them specific to wherever I’m going, but I thought this year I would try to make a more general one for all the different vacations people will be going on.

Whether you are venturing to California to soak up the sun, headed up to New York to see the city that never sleeps, pulling the typical college spring break Florida beach or Mexico trip, or you’re like me and will be taking a riveting adventure to the nearest Wingstop or maybe even movie theater, you can find a song in this playlist to rock out to on your journey.

While this is mostly a rock playlist, I’ve thrown in some rap, hip-hop, and pop songs that are so catchy you can’t help but sing them along when they come on. These songs were picked based on how fast they make me want to drive on an open road, how loud I can sing them at the top of my lungs in a car, how badly they make me want travel, and overall how good they make me feel. While listening to them, I hope you also feel a strong sense of wanderlust, or an urge to belt out a chorus at the top of your lungs; I hope you have fun with it.

From Led Zeppelin to Bad Company to Lynyrd Skynyrd, you’re sure to find the perfect vibe for a trip out west to California or up to the Rockies. From Jay-Z to the Beastie Boys a trip to a big city will get energized in a flash. From George Thorogood to the Toadies, a seven hour stretch of Texas will become more bearable. All these artists and more will help you get where you’re going in what will feel like no time at all.

Check out my playlist on Spotify by clicking here! I definitely recommend shuffling the playlist for diversity in what songs will be coming up next. You will need a Spotify account to listen to it, or you can sign in with your Facebook account. Warning: this playlist features explicit songs.

Leave a Reply

